The 1999/2000 PCT Thruhikers  |  1999 Pacific Crest Trail

606

South to North Through Hikers

A. Ray Tomlison and David Busha, coolwahr@aol.com
Aaron Unger, psndcsr@jps.net
Airdale, Stephene Barbee, Completed 9/29
Al Wohlpart & Josef Piller, awohlpart@cwix.com, Completed 10/10.
Album, Alan Nelson, aln@uswest.net
Allen Downs, ahdowns@aol.com, Reached Tuolomne Meadows, skipped to Echo summit and left trail permanently 30 miles later due to arm injury.
Andreas Kramer, Completed 10/2
Andy McKerrow, spotted at Skykomish 9/18
Annie and the Salesman, Ann & Larry McDuff, lpmcduff@juno.com, Completed 9/19.
Batch, Calvin Batchelder, contact via the Ravens at tumstead@gi.com
Big Daddy, Mike Robertson, bigdaddy290@juno.com
Birdgirl, Charlotte Clews, clc13@cornell.edu,http://www.fcinet.com/pct. Completed 9/17.
Blake Shepard, bshepard@nextera.com, Completed 9/18.
Bong, Jarrod Gasper, completed 8/31
Brian Farsted, spotted at Skykomish 9/22
Bruce McMutrey, spotted at Skykomish 9/18
Buffalo Bob, Bob Reese, spotted at Skykomish 9/25
Butch Farstad, Completed 10/2, brianfarstad@aol.com
Caboose, Dave NcQuitty, spotted at Skykomish 10/20
Camille Hamm, KittenTN@aol.com
Captain Planet, Sven Thesen, trailsweep@aol.com
Chai-walker, Nathan Martin, nathan@znet.com, http://www.znet.com/~martin/, complete 9/24
Completely Free, Markam Carr, Completed 10/8
Coyote Girl,Shoshanna, rookie@olypen.com
Dana Lemieux,4/21, dana13195@aol.com. Completed 9/14
David Krogmann, 5/6, dkrogmann@yahoo.com, http://members.xoom.com/dkrogmann/
Denis Kermicle, 4/25, Completed 9/17
Drew Britton, May 1, drbritton@popmail.ucsd.edu
David Long, early May, mushin@mindless.com
Denis Kermickle, Completed 9/17.
Dull Guy, Paul Hauer, 5/11, Completed 9/21
Fishboy, Chris Morlock, 5/10, spotted at Skykomish 8/27
Foxtrot, Rob Fiscel, 5/26, completed 8/27
Frank Tripicchio, 4/15, frtripi@zeus.kern.org, Completed 9/16.
Gary Brumbaugh,4/9, garybrum@proaxis.com
Goforth, Joanne Lennox, late March, goforth@cio.net, Completed 10/15.
Go Round, Mary Barrow, 4/21, Completed 9/23
Gordon Brown, 4/5, through Skykomish 9/16.
The Greenman, Corey Todaro, 5/1, cbtodaro@midway.uchicago.edu
Greg Cullen, late April, Completed, forgotten when.gmctraveling2@yahoo.com
Hal Margolis, Campo to Agua Dulce, haroldm2@flash.net, http://wwwdigiweb.com/greenhornets
The Happy Trails Couple, Walt & Pat Radney, 4/15, radney@ix.netcom.com
Heiko Balling, 5/1, completed some time around end of September.
Henry Barclay, 5/10, Completed 9/29
Henry Shires, 4/21, hshires@aol.com. Completed 9/13.
Homebrew, Mike Harper, 4/21, spotted at Skykomish 9/23
Hungry Mother, Jane Fredericks, spotted at Skykomish 9/25
Hurricane Helen, Helen, Hilberg, 3/2, completed 9/30
Ishmael, Bruce Dunlany, 5/2, spotted at Skykomish 9/17
Jason Melvin, 4/16, Completed 9/17
Jeff Cevest, 4/12, spotted at Skykomish 9/25
Jeff Maxson, 5/3, Complete 9/10
Jeremy Finch, 5/6, completed 9/21
Jersey Jim, Jim Smart, 4/22,Completed 9/18.
Jim Chudy, 5/4, Completed 9/22
Jodi Collins, beginning of May, JCol979837@aol.com
Jonathan Ley, late April, over_there@geocities.com,http://www.geocities.com/over_somewhere, Completed 10/2.
J¿rn Henry Christiansen, Jan-Christian Raastad, Thorbjorn Geirbo, 5/6, j.h.christiansen@hfstud.uio.no, janchrr@hotmail.com, tgeirbo@hotmail.com, Completed 9/9.
Joseph Pillar, 4/19, Completed 10/10
Junk Yard Dog, Clark Matthews, 4/23, 9/18
Kathrin Achini, 4/24, completed 10/2
Katie Hunter, 5/10, spotted at Skykomish 8/27
Kevin Farrell and Cooper, completed 9/22
Kurt Grossman, 4/22, spotted at Skykomish 9/23
Lara and Jason, 4/16, jandlara@angelfire.com , Completed 9/18.
Le, May 11, PLe1280166@aol.com
Lia vonDamm, 4/20, completed 9/23
Lindy Lindberg, early May, garyl@mninter.net, Third to reach Manning Park, August 29th!
Lost Soul, Brian Kiesel, 4/17, brian.kiesel@convergys.com, completed last week in September.
Margaret Brownell, 4/24, brownell@gte.net
Michael Sandoval, 5/9, Spotted at Skykomish 9/21
Mike LaCoursure, 4/20, 9/24
Mountain Dave, David Cossa, early May (?), cmountaindave@aol.com, reached Harts pass on October 30 and had to leave the trail because of a bad storm. Only 22 miles shy of Manning Park!
Neil Parcell, 5/1, Completed 9/29
Nick and Whitney Brown, 4/26,
Northbound Gaiter, Robert Beard, 4/17, Completed 9/14
Packrat, John Roble, Completed 9/18
Paula Mortens, 6/3, spotted at Skykomish 9/29
Pennsylvania Plumbers, 5/1, Jay Reynolds and Ken Heiss, planned through hike, jayrr@epix.net, Completed to McKenzie Pass where they left due to Ken’s hernia.
PermaGrin, Mike Prochaska, 5/1, mprochaska@BAUGHENT.com
Pete Carr, 4/24, pc@rational.com , Completed 10/8
Pocohontas and The Joker, Linda and Mark Dietsche, 4/21, Left trail somewhere around Kennedy Meadows, I believe
Polecat, Kevin Ebel, 5/17, spotted at Skykomish 9/23
Rafi Youatt, 5/2, rafi_youatt@hotmail.com
Rambling Man and Water Witch, Karin and Walt Harmon, 4/22, Completed 9/28
Read Miller, doing Southern California in sections now, 6/15 from Kennedy Meadows, readm@sprynet.com
Rebecca Sykes, April 15, Rebecca_Sykes@idg.com, completed 9/25.
Rebecca Williams, April 16, rebecca_pct@usa.net
Recess Run, Ron Vaughn, 4/20, completed 9/14
Ron Vaughn, 4/15 or 4/22, can contact via Walt and Pat Radney at radney@ix.netcom.com. Completed 9/14.
Robert Bedichek, late April, http://www.bedichek.org/robert
Robert Taylor, Russell Prugh, 5/25, spotted at Skykomish 9/29
Running Wind, 5/5, completed 9/7
Sandra Medearis, 6/15 this year or 5/12 in 2000, smedearis@hotmail.com
Scott Conover, 4/23
Scott Thompson, late April, sdt@netcom.com until 4/25 then c/o dale@crl.com
Servo, Tom Potochny, May 1, SERVO66@prodigy.net
Shannon Bigelson, 5/17 Big Bear to Manning Park, bigelson@aznet.net
Shirt, John Perkins, 4/20, Completed 9/18.
Slyman, Bobby Sylvester , 4/24, Slyinmd@aol.com. 1300 miles and counting. Hoping to finish next year.
Skitz and Jen, Completed 9/23
Steve Fonseca,5/3, spfonseca@hotmail.com. The first to reach Manning Park – August 27th!
Snoopster, Mike Paton, 4/24, snoop@erols.com
Sven Thesen, Completed 8/31
Steel-Eye, Chuck Chelin, completed all of Oregon
Sweet Cheeks, Chuck Stone, spotted at various places, movin’ fast
Tay Hansen, 6/3, spotted at Skykomish 9/29
Team “On Fire”, Mike Perry & Jen Doebler, early May, tubababe@psu.edu
Tim Fearn, 5/17, taofriend@hotmail.com, exited at Tulomne Meadows, I think
Timbo, Timothy Dodds, 4/23, judybarr@mindspring.com
Tobin, Toby Patke, 5/1, tobin@mail.utetexas.edu
Tradja, John Drollette, 5/2, tradja@hotmail.com, Completed 9/29
Travelin Man & Southern Harp, George & Mary Sue Roach, 4/17, groach@pilotmail.com
Troubadour, Stephen Martin, 4/24, troubadoor@earthlink.net , http://www.pcthiker.com, Completed 10/7.
Tucker, Tucker Spohr, 5/7, worknot@yahoo.com, Completed 9/21.
Ulysses, Jim Kean, May 31, spotted at Skykomish 9/29, www.kean.net
Yip, Andrew Yip, mid April, andrewy@micrografx.com
Yucca Dave, David Church, 4/29, Completed 9/22
North to South Through Hikers (sort of)
Darcy & Whit Rambach, Aug 8, 1999, wrambach@yahoo.com
Kristian Whitsett, date unknown, Kristian.whitsett@oberlin.edu
Ke Kaahawe & Fidget, Michael Henderson & Ellen Chaffins, 6/20, start from Walker Pass through souther and central Sierra to Sonora Pass. Then bus to Manning and start south at the end of July, Washington in August, big party with northbounders at Cascade Locks, Sonora at end of October. Resume southbound at Walker Pass to finish early to mid December, mhat92@tidepool.com. Arrived Canadian border 9/17 having hiked 1000 miles. Fidget left the trail there, Mike continuing south on his own.
Mexico to Oregon Hikers
Gently Tred, Deborah Raushi, April 15, planned Mexico to Canada, oakmountain@mindspring.com,http://oakmountain.home.mindspring.com/pcthome.html, completed 1013 miles leaving the trail at Sonora Pass on July 3
Maggot, Margo Chisholm, 4/20, margo@tothesummit.com, http://www.tothesummit.com. Traveled 600 of the southern most 950 miles, leaving the trail at Red’s Meadow. Planning to return next year.
Rainmaker, David Mauldin, 4/23, rainmaker@rabun.net. 1013 miles to Sonora Pass where he left the trail due to bad back problems. Planning to return next year.
Section Hikers
Andrea Ceppi, July 7, JMT, ceppi@hawaii.edu
Ant Newman, late May, Sierras starting at Kennedy Meadows than flip north to hike south from Three Sisters, OR to where he left off, antnewman@clara.net,
Batch Was Here, Harry Batcholder, showed up in various places at various times along the trail.
Blisterfree, Brett Tucker, Campo to Tahoe, blisterfree@delphi.com, left the trail at Gishop Pass instead of planned Lake Tahoe area, due to running out of time. Planning to return next year.
Brian Robinson, Crater Lake to Manning, brian.robinson@compaq.com. Completed 9/14 with Roy, his dad. Brian later became the first person to complete the Triple Crown (PCT, Continental Divide Trail, and Appalachian Trail in a calendar year)
Brian Toth, Walker Pass to I-80, britoth@arches.uga.edu, Completed 7/20.
Brooks Hull, Walker Pass to Donner Pass, bhull@CA-F1.umd.umich.edu
BugBite, Emily Reith, length of California, bugbite98@yahoo.com
Carolyn Leary, Campo thru JMT, wernli@lightspeed.net. Mt. Laguna to Independence completed 7/18 with Linda Shepard.
Charlie Jones and Cheryl Mason, Canebrake Road to Walker Pass (Jan Craven will be along for this leg (Complete!); Memorial Day Weekend, Mission Creek Trail Camp to Cottonwood Trailhead (Completed 5/31/99); June/July, Kennedy Meadows to Cottonwood Pass (Cheryl); Burney Falls to Peavine Creek, Grizzly Peak Road to Gumboot Trailhead (completed 6/24); Lookout Rock to Old Station (completed 8/13); Crater Lake NP (completed Highway 62 to Highway 138 August 6) CharlieJones@aol.com, cmason@mail.sdsu.edu
Dale and Mark Woodward, JMT, pathfind@mlode.com
Daphne Dionisio, JMT north to south, daphne_paige@geocities.com
David Clark, JMT Southbound from Happy Isle, David_Clark@candle.com
Doug Banks, Norden, CA to “as far north as I can get”, db928855@mindspring.com
Drake McDonald, JMT north to south in 14 days, DrakeMcD@aol.com, completed 7/26 – 8/6
E-Dog, Eric Hanson, Mexico to Canada, holidayeric@hotmail.com
Eric Phillips-Meadow, Seiad Valley to Manning Park, pmeadow@coinet.com
Free Bird, Gary Bolton, Washington North to South, byloselhy@aol.com
Flat Top, Edward McKenzie, Mexico to Canada, AAmcoed@earthlink.com
Gene Baune, Idyllwild to Wrightwood, GENEB22@aol.com
Graham Knopp, Castle Crags to Columbia River, graham@maxwell.ucsf.edu
James R. Bruton, Agua Dulce to Burney, jbruton@northlink.com
Jeff Brenner, Section K, Echo Lake Resort to Soda Springs, jbrenner@jps.net, http://www.jps.net/jbrenner/frp/index.html
Jeff Holt, Canada to Stevenson, WA, jeffh@skamania.net
Jonathan Blees, Campo to Warner Springs, Jblees@energy.state.ca.us
Kim Parent and Jeff Hayash, Mexico to Oregon, jhayash@earthlink.net
Linda Shepard, completed Mt. Laguna to Independence 7/18 with Carolyn Leary.
Marge Prothman, Mexico to Walker Pass, will do Warner Springs – Scissors Crossing 10/22 – 10/24; Section B late November; other lower sections as long as weather holds out, margepr@cyberhighway.net
Mike Scawen, Campo to Mt. Whitney, mikes@ga-memik.demon.co.uk
Nick Bechlien, JMT, Tim Berger, July 27, JMT, pathfind@mlode.com
Paul Woodward, JMT to Reds, pathfind@mlode.com
Steve Fox, Snoqualmie Pass to Manning Park, sfox@eskimo.com, Completed 9/3 – 9/12.
Tim Berger, JMT, .@mlode.com
Tim Ramsey, Campo – I-80, tramsey@emotech.com
Tom Hopkins, JMT, java2@ix.netcom.com, Completed 8/15
TrailDad, Roy Robinson, Donner Pass to Manning Park, ROYROBIN@aol.com. Completed 9/14 with son Brian.
Tripod and Dawn, Chris Rinehart and Dawn, Mexico to Canada, ecrunchy@aol.com
Will Stenzel, manjovin@jps.net
Yak, Ryan Nagel, spotted at Skykomish 9/18
Zeke Black, south from I-80 to Tehachpi, zekeblack@aol.com

 

2000 PCT Thruhikers

303-1

Album, Alan Nelson, May 1, north from San Felipe Creek, Highway 78, aln@skypoint.com
Ant Newman, southbound from Etna Summit to Kennedy Meadows (that will complete the PCT for Ant), antnewman@clara.net
Aussie Crawl and Platypus, and Blue Tongue Matt Sweeney and ?, and Geoffrey Schubert, Mexico to Canada, industrial@apexgroup.com.au
Bernard Martoia, Mexican border to Lone Pine, bernardmartoia@prodigy.net
Bill Schoenberg, Mexico to Canada, wschoenberg@home.com
Billy Goat Gruff, E.C. Beeler, Mexico to Canada, liveoakhill@prodigy.net. Hiking with goat.
Blaze, Tim Shaffer, Mexico to Canada, Timshaffer@aol.com
Blisterfree, Brett Tucker, Kennedy Meadows to Manning Park; mid October, Kennedy Meadows south to Campo, blisterfree@hotmail.com
Blue Foote, Benjamin Foote, Mexico to Canada, ben@bnf.net
Brian Reynolds, Mexico to Canada in however many years it takes, camper@stanfordalumni.org
Bob Watt, JMT North to South, Rewmach@teleport.com
Butterfly, Ethan McEvily, Mexico to Canada, bfly31@hotmail.com
Butterfree, Sara Baggett, Mexico to Canada, butterfreefl@yahoo.com
Ceiow de Jeran, Daris LaPointe, with Jeremy Crowle for a few weeks, then solo, pansyass@hotmail.com
Charlie Jones and Cheryl Mason, Sierra City to Lookout Rock; Peavine Creek to Grizzly Peak Road; Scott Mt. Summit to Oregon border, charliejones@aol.com, cmason@mail.sdsu.edu, Donner Pass to Ashland, filling in the gaps they had created as section hikers.
Chris Ramias, California and Oregon, Az8hiker@aol.com
Craig Nielsen, Mexico to Canada, nielsenecrg@aol.com
Craig and Tracy Jones, Mexico to Canada, c.a.jones@mindspring.com
Craiger, Craig Wanless, Oregon border to border, cwanless@pacinfo.com
Dave Stockton, Mexico to Canada, early May, davstock@tiac.net,
David Hillman, Mexico to Canada, daves_2000_pct_hike@hotmail.com
David Turner, Mexico to Canada, lukeahoy@yahoo.com
Doug Gates, Mexico to Canada, pcthiker@uswest.net, (this email address good on trail!) http://www.pct2000trek.org
Duane Younglove, Mexico to Canada, merlin@zlink.net
Edman, Ed Knapton, Mexico to Canada, edman123@excite.com
Fallingwater, Ron Moak, Mexico to Canada, ronm@fallingwater, http://www.fallingwater.com
The Family (Suches 75, The Artist, Rosey, Sport, Appy Annie, 4X4), The Allen Family, Mexico to Canada
Flight of the Spiriteagle, Jim and Ginny Owen, Mexico to Canada, jim_ginny_o@attglobal.net
Garey Meabon and Jonathon Carlson, Mexico to Canada, GrandpaZoe@aol.com
Gene Baune, Section, geneb22@aol.com
Globetrotter, Mexico to Canada, packs@hotmail.com
Gordon and Bruce Wade, Mexico to Canada, gfwade@hotmail.com
Green Hornet, Hal Margolis, Mexico to Canada, haroldm2@flash.net, http://www.digiweb.com/greenhornets
Grizzly, Greg Boone, Mexico to Canada, richardson_001@msn.com
“H”, Brian Brown, Mexico to Canada, doadonut@hotmail.com
Hawkeye, Mike Johnson, Mexico to Canada, mmikeymoe@hotmail.com
Hike 2000, Terry Larkin and John Lackman, Mexico to Canada, Bbear43@aol.com, http://www.hike2000.com
Hobbit, Tom Rogers, Mexico to Trinity Alps, tfrogers1@excite.com, http://www.friends.backcountry.net/rogers/
Improv and Madame Butterfly, Mike Gay and Valerie Neck, Mexico to Canada, TeamSupreme@pocketmail.com
Jamie and Ray Riches, Mexico to as far as they get in 4 months, jriches@ch2m.com, RRiches@heywoodcommunity.rochdale.sch.uk
Jason Dennis, early May, Mexico to Canada, landb@jps.net
Jason Thomas, 880 miles, jasonthomas@mediaone.net, http://www.walkingca.com
JBear, Jonathan Blees, Campo north for one week, JBlees@energy.state.ca.us
Jeff Brenner, South to North, jbrenner@jps.net, http://www.jps.net/jbrenner/frp/index.html
Jim Bruton, Mexico to Canada, jbruton@northlink.com
Jim K., Sections I, J, K, airbrne27@jps.net
JoAnn Michael, finish Sections Q and R, jomike@snowcrest.net, will have completed all section in Siskiyou County.
Joe “El Macino” Helten and Conrad “Papa Grande” Bitangcol, Mexico to Canada, joehelten@canada.com
The “Journey” Crew, JB Benna, Kimmo, Stephan and Joe, Mexico to Canada, http://www.journeyfilm.com. First nationally televised PCT documentary. Contact them for more. They want to meet as many of the hikers as they can.
Kaptain Krumholz, Squirrel Fight, Wayah et al, Ben Harth, Jonny Lane, Tanner Critz, Ezra Freeman, Maria Stavrakas, however far they get in a season, benharth@yahoo.com
Ken and Jenny Martin, Mexico slowly north until mid August, ksmraleigh@cs.com
Kinch, John Kincheloe, Mexico to Canada,
Lady Godiva and Bulk Hogan, Morgan Dunlap and Charlie Liskey, Mexico to Canada, jjsfire@aol.com. Lady Godiva will be horseback and Bulk will hike
Lara Thompson and Dave Hopwood, laramt@hotmail.com
Larry Holm, Tuolomne Meadows to Ashland, lwholm@pcez.com
Loony, Lee Wilson, Mexico to Canada, leew@ados.com
Luke Snyder, late April, Mexico to Canada, lukeahoy@yahoo.com
LunaKat and The PEDestrian, Katrina Kole and Paul Dietrich, Paul_d@magicnet.net and Aplumst@aol.com
Margo Cruse, Mexico to Canada, margo@cats.ucsc.edu
Mike Aken, Sections A, B, C, mike_aken@hotmail.com
Mike Scawen, Trail Pass to Canada, mikes@ga-memik.demon.co.uk
Molson and Plumber, Ron Smith and ?, Mexico to Canada, josmith@alaskalife.net
Natasha Carver and Kristen Bradley, 200 miles, boliviahike@hotmail.com, http://www.intlcorp.demon.co.uk.
Nocona and Bald Eagle, Karen Borski and Andy Somers, Mexico to Canada, nocona@pcthiker.com, http://www.pcthiker.com, planned completion 10/2
The Olympic Bushman, Monte Dodge, Section A, montedodge@aol.com
The Peabody Man, Donner Pass to Canada, grandpapeabody@hotmail.com
Peakbagger, Randy Bauer, Mexico to Canada, seahike@yahoo.com mailto:seahike@yahoo.com
Pennsylvania Plumbers, Jay Reynolds and Ken ?, will complete 675 unfinished miles from McKenzie Pass to Canada, jayrr@epix.net
Phil the Philosopher, Phil Pluckebaum, Canada to Mexico, pluckebaum@hotmail.com
Philomene Smith, Mexico to Canada, psmith@planconstr.corr.ca.gov
Powerful Tiger, Peter Haskell,Mexico to Canada, pchaskell@yahoo.com
Prehistoric Tony, Tony Nitz, 4/28 from Campo, 9/29 from Manning Park, PT@HikerTrash.net, http://www.HikerTrash.net . Planning a Yo-Yo!
Rainmaker and Carol, Sonora Pass to Crater Lake, rainmaker@rabun.net.
Reader, Read Miller, Belden to Canada, readm@sprynet.com
Rhett Butler, Mexico to Canada, rhett_76@yahoo.com
Rick and Seth Walker, Campo to Walker Pass then Siskiyou Summit to Walker Pass, rmo1980@aol.com
Robert Bannerman, Mexico to Canada, robertbannerman@yahoo.com

917

Back to the 1999 Pacific Crest Trail Journal